Skip to content

Great Find: Lamp Shade

July 20, 2009

Sean and I went down to Savannah for our third anniversary. Outside of its gorgeous architecture and fascinating history, Savannah is known for having some great antique stores. So I was really interested in finding some great additions to my guest bedroom. We went to a few antique stores as well as some very cool modern stores, but things were either out of our price range, not our style, or simply not an item we were looking for. Here I am playing with an antique hairdryer.

Bria Hairdryer

Obviously I have no need for an antique hairdryer, and I actually left all the antique stores empty handed. Not that there wasn’t some great stuff, but just not great for me right now. So imagine my surprise when I stumbled upon the perfect item at Urban Outfitters. Now, I know it is a national chain, so it may be less of a travel souvenir, but we don’t have an Urban Outfitters home homestore in Atlanta! Remember those pictures of the guestroom from my post about turning books around? Something was missing.

IMG_5142

As you might have guessed from the title, I found some fabulous new lamp shades. Take a look at the beautiful, patterned shades.

Lights off:

IMG_5287

And Lights On:

IMG_5285

IMG_5289

The patterned shades certainly add some interest and youth to the walls. Also, the size of the shade turned out to be perfection. They add height to the room and actually hit around the same place as the headboard. So how much did the pair set me back? Try $4.33 (for the pair, including tax)! They were on sale, with an extra 50% off, and one had a small internal imperfection so I got an extra 50% off that one. Finding a good deal sure feels great, and the room is really starting to take shape!

Have you found some great deals in unexpected places? With only a few more projects left to finish this room off, stay tuned to see the shocking before and afters!!!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Christy permalink
    July 20, 2009 4:08 pm

    Hi Bria! It’s me again! I haven’t been to Urban Outfitters in a million years, but your post led me to their website. I saw something there that gave me a decorating idea and so I thought I’d share it.

    One of the photos on UO’s “Apartments” category showed a bunch of quilts hanging from something (pegs? a coat rack? a Shaker chair rack?) on the wall. I have been looking for a colorful wall decoration, so this caught my eye. What inspired me was the usefulness of having extra blankets so easily accessible and since it is a shame to put pretty quilts or afghans (which I have a bunch of) in a closet or cupboard, this would be a neat way to display them. I can see where dust would eventually be an issue, but they could periodically be shaken or washed. I wanted to add the picture to this comment, but since I can’t, I’ve emailed it to you. ~Christy

  2. Christy permalink
    July 20, 2009 4:32 pm

    And another thing….two thoughts about what you could use as hooks in the bedroom where an old door is the headboard: glass doorknobs or keyholes covers (you know – the fancy kind that usually come with glass doorknob set ups) with the skeleton key sticking out of it.

  3. Christa Rosenkranz permalink
    November 1, 2009 11:04 pm

    You went to Savannah! If you ever come down again, thats where I live, and you should totally hit me up. 🙂

Leave a comment