Skip to content

Dreamy Door

July 8, 2009

The guest room feels far from finished. However, I wanted to show you how the headboard turned out. A number of people gave their opinions for the headboard, but the winning style was…..the door headboard! While a lot of people (including myself) loved the cushion headboard, I felt that the door would function more like a regular headboard. If I want to move the bed, the door is not affixed to the wall as the cushion would be. Also, I got a door for free making this project ultra cheap.

With the practical stylings of my dad at work, we cut the door to fit the bed and be symmetrical. This included taking the two smallest panels of a six-panel door off and then a couple inches at the bottom. Next, we used wood glue and screws to attach 1″x4″ boards on three sides of the door. On the back side of the headboard, we attached high quality 1″x4″ hardwoods that could be attached to the metal bed frame. Finally, on the front we attached molding onto the door with a nail gun.

Here is a picture of the headboard in place:

IMG_5091

And a close up of the headboard:

IMG_5108

Looks like Donald approves:

IMG_5101

By the way, I am debating using this authentic Amish-made quilt with a pink/green theme or a red/light blue theme (I have a light blue with khaki and red stripes duvet or a red and blue linen duvet). What do you think? I haven’t fallen in love with the room yet, but the headboard has made a drastic difference.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jann permalink
    July 8, 2009 2:14 pm

    Hey, Michelle Wehrheim just came into my office to tell me about this blog. She loved it and she wants you to make Jenny one.

  2. Christy permalink
    July 8, 2009 8:08 pm

    I voted for the cushion, but I think this headboard really looks great. One thing that I notice about this view of the room is everything is rectangles: the headboard, the bookcases, the books, the frames, even the quilt is all angles. The flower vases soften things, but they don’t seem like enough. That’s just my thought…

    Speaking of Donald…Will told me you used some shaving thing and really liked it. Is that the results in the picture? If so, I need to know what you used! Ziggy needs a shave badly!!!

    I love your blog!

    • Briana permalink*
      July 8, 2009 9:54 pm

      I agree 100% about the rectangles. So far, the only thing I have purchased for the room is a can of trim paint and a new brush. I wanted to see how far I could get with the room with what I already had.

      I was going to write out here all that I am planning on doing, but that sounds like a pretty good wall post! :)

      Did you recognize the flower vase? It is the wine bottle that I took from Gimza! The flowers were stolen from a vase downstairs, but I will pick up some better looking flowers soon!

  3. July 14, 2009 2:16 am

    I love it! It looks great, I might try it someday ,what a cool idea!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

